Howard Hodgkin, Whose Paintings Were Coded With Emotion, Dies at 84 – The New York Times

  1. Hi, Donna. Sorry to hear this. I didn’t know who he was til I saw a big retrospective of his in Madrid some years back. I’ve been in like (if not in love) with his work every since. Sigh. Can’t there be good news every now and then? Not in 2017, I guess

    • hi, john. the good news is that we’re still here? you and me and the planet and all the arts and Sean Bonney. wish i could say the same for the NEA which i hear is going to be de-funded. one thing about prump is that any illusion which ever existed about amerika — origins, historyherstory, and form of government — are now denuded. that’s a bit of good news, yes?

      • Re: your USAmerica unmasked … now the species is unmasked. I don’t think it’s good news because I don’t see an upside … I think it’s dystopia all the way down now, the way it used to be turtles. I can’t imagine how things will ever change for the better. But pay no attention to me, I’m simply depressed and terrified – not for me, but for the planet as a whole, as for me, I’m an old fart and my future’s pretty much entirely behind me … as for Sean, I’m afraid for him, tho, his rage is a good thing, but I don’t think he’s kidding about the self-destruction … in recent videos he looks like shit, to put it mildly …

      • our train wreck of thought . . . i have-do experience how hopeless it seems, and yet life is not just our species being greater than different from by degree. does future exist only in poetry?

      • Hi, Donna– the future exists, it’s just gonna be ugly. Tho the planet may eventually heal itself, I doubt we’ll be any assistance. And yes, the future exists in poetry, in some sense I can only define by saying even the most down poetry is basically a vehicle of hope, and what do we really hope for, whether we write about flowers, or love, or pollution, or … is that there is … a time. As that wonderful Sam Cooke song had it, it’s been a long time comin, but I know a change is gonna come … that seems the essence of poetry to me. Well, one essence, at least 🙂

      • That’s true, John, and ugly now every single day. Love what you wrote here: “And yes, the future exists in poetry, in some sense I can only define by saying even the most down poetry is basically a vehicle of hope, and what do we really hope for, whether we write about flowers, or love, or pollution, or … is that there is … a time.” And democracy, being a fragile day to day process goes down for the count and gets up, until which morning?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

