Spiral by Hari Alluri – Poem-a-Day Academy of American Poets





Spiral

Hari Alluri

What seeps in me from weeks of rain
making me forget
the life-give part in water.

The world this morning
reminds me too much
of my insides that night I almost

abandoned the balcony.
Three pages deep of furious
language. Scratching

worry into my journal
before I can say, please,
let me

stop. Notice,
on the outside table
this jagged bouquet:

tobacco seeds, dried,
still attached to the cut
few inches of their last-year stalks,

wrinkled fire
in a mini vase. It doesn’t look much
like promise, but it is.

Copyright © 2024 by Hari Alluri. Originally published in Poem-a-Day on May 1, 2024, by the Academy of American Poets.
  1. I want to put down what the mountain has awakened.

    My mouthful of grass.
    My curious tale. I want to stand still but find myself moved patch by patch.
    There’s a bleat in my throat. Words fail me here. Can you understand? I sink to
    my knees tired or not. I now know the ragweed from the goldenrod, and the blinding
    beauty of green. Don’t you see? I am shedding my skins. I am a paper hive, a wolf spider,
    the creeping ivy, the ache of a birch, a heifer, a doe. I have fallen from my dream
    of progress: the clear-cut glass, the potted and balconied tree, the lemon-waxed
    wood over a marbled pillar, into my own nocturne. The lullabies I had forgotten.
    How could I know what slept inside? What would rend my fantasies to cud and up
    from this belly’s wet straw-strewn field—

    these soundings.
    Vievee Francis, “Another Antipastoral”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment